Burger King Camping Set

Line: Burger King kid’s meal toys
Year: 1989/1990
Set: 5 – Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa, Maggie

These rubber figures were released in the kids meals at Burger King  in the USA in 1989, and at Hungry Jack’s in Australia in 1990, which makes them one of the first (if not the very first) Simpsons fast food sets.

They have a camping theme, after the first season episode, “The Call Of The Simpsons”, in which the family loses their RV, stranding them in the woods.

They originally came with cardboard “diarama” backgrounds. I’ve seen pictures of them, but I’ve never seen them for sale or on display anywhere. The figures are fairly common in my experience, but if you have or find any of the backgrounds, don’t let them go!

Unless you want to give them to me, that is…

3 thoughts on “Burger King Camping Set

  1. I have three of the figurines with the “dioramas,” but I have no idea which one goes with who. I have Marge, Homer, and Bart. Can you help me out? And before you ask, no I’m not going to part with them…yet.

    • As much as I’d like them myself (:D), I’d encourage you to hold onto them for dear life! Those backdrops are very rare nowadays, and drive up the value of the figures.
      The only image I’ve ever been able to find with them set up is this one, from Simpsons Collector Sector. I can only assume that what’s shown is the correct pairing, but there are cues that make sense, eg, in Bart’s one, there’s a blue bag on the ground that matches the one on his back.

Leave a Reply

